• Print

The AIHW was established as a statutory authority in 1987 by the Australian Institute of Health Act 1987 to report to the nation on the state of its health. In 1992, the role and functions of the then Australian Institute of Health were expanded to include welfare related information and statistics, making it the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare. The Act is now titled the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare Act 1987 (Appendix 2).

The Act establishes the Board as the governing body, with the role and composition of the Board specified in s. 8(1) of the Act. The AIHW Board is accountable to the Parliament of Australia through the Minister for Health.

AIHW Board members

Dr Mukesh Haikerwal AO
Board Chairperson

Mr Andrew Kettle
Acting Director, AIHW

Mr David Kalisch
Australian Statistician

Mr Paul Madden 
Deputy Secretary, Department of Health

Dr Lyn Roberts AM
Ministerial nominee (with expertise in research into public health issues)

Dr Erin Lalor
Ministerial nominee (consumers of health services)

Mr Michael Perusco
Ministerial nominee (consumers of housing assistance services)

Dr Siew-Ean Khoo
Ministerial nominee

Mr Andrew Goodsall
Ministerial nominee

Mr Philip Fagan-Schmidt
Ministerial nominee (with knowledge of the needs of consumers of welfare services)

Mr David Conry
Ministerial nominee (with knowledge of the needs of consumers of welfare services)

Ms Marilyn Chilvers
Member nominated by the Children and Families Secretariats Group

Mr Devin Bowles
Staff representative nominee

Charter of Corporate Governance

The AIHW Board has adopted a Charter of Corporate Governance (252KB PDF) that outlines the governance framework of the Institute. The charter describes, among other things:

  • legislation governing the operations of the AIHW
  • constitution of the board
  • conduct of board members and the Director
  • roles of board members
  • Board delegations
  • Board processes (such as conduct of meetings and dealing with role conflicts)
  • Board committees.