• Print

released: 6 Sep 2012 author: AIHW

The National Health Data Dictionary provides national standards for the broader health sector. This update reflects changes to data standards between 1 July 2010 and 30 April 2012. During this time 10 data set specifications, 23 data element clusters, 177 data elements, one classification and 20 glossary items have been added. Twelve national minimum data sets, two data set specifications, 96 data elements, five classifications and three glossary items have been superseded, and three national standards have been retired since version 15 of the NHDD was published.

ISSN 1329-4555; ISBN 978-1-74249-337-4; Cat. no. HWI 119; 3590pp.; Internet only


Publication table of contents

  • Preliminary material
    • Title and verso pages
    • Contents
    • Acknowledgments
    • Summary of updates to National Health Data Dictionary (NHDD) since version 15
  • Body section
    • National Health Data Dictionary
    • Data Elements
    • NMDS
    • DSS
    • Cluster
    • Supporting items
    • Object classes
    • Property 
    • Classifications
    • Glossary items
    • Companion guide
    • Data Element Technical Names
  • End matter
    • Feedback and contact details
      • METeOR and Metadata Unit
      • Data Development Hotline
      • AIHW secretariat 
    • List of tables
    • List of figures

Recommended citation

AIHW 2012. National Health Data Dictionary 2012 version 16. National health data dictionary no. 16. Cat. no. HWI 119. Canberra: AIHW. Viewed 26 July 2017 <http://www.aihw.gov.au/publication-detail/?id=10737422826>.

Request an alternative format

Please contact us if you need information from the website presented in an alternative format for accessibility reasons.