National Mental Health Performance Subcommittee

NMHP SC background

The National Mental Health Performance Subcommittee (NMHPSC) provides technical advice about mental health system performance to the Mental Health Information Strategy Standing Committee (MHISSC).

NMHPSC brings together jurisdictional representatives, members with technical expertise and key stakeholders including consumers, carers, and clinicians. The committee was established to oversee the development and implementation of a national performance measurement framework for mental health services, to support benchmarking for mental health service improvement, and provide national information on mental health system performance.

Reporting structure

NMHPSC reports to MHISSC. MHISSC in turn reports to the Mental Health Principal Committee (MHPC) of the Australian Health Ministers' Advisory Council (AHMAC). More information about the reporting relationships between health sector committees is available at the link below.

Health sector committees reporting relationships

Terms of Reference

The NMHPSC provides expert technical advice for consideration by MHISSC.

The National Mental Health Performance Subcommittee will:

  • Provide technical advice and recommendations on:
    • The ongoing development of a national performance measurement framework for mental health services.
    • National mental health benchmarking initiatives for health services improvement.
    • National information on mental health system performance. 
  • Provide a forum for consultation and discussion to inform the development, implementation, evaluation and improvement of national mental health performance measurement.
  • Monitor, evaluate and action, where appropriate, the results from the annual state and territory implementation survey.
  • Prepare appropriate technical documentation and other resource materials required to support the use of performance indicators within mental health services.
  • Advise on requirements for the development of national publications and other reporting processes to facilitate comparative analysis and information on the performance of mental health services.
  • Develop and maintain linkages with other relevant national committees and organisations. 


NMHPSC membership is endorsed annually by MHISSC. Any changes to membership after this endorsement need to be agreed by the Chair of NMHPSC in consultation with the Chair of MHISSC.

The current membership of NMHPSC consists of:

  • The Chair, a member of the MHISSC, appointed by the MHISSC
  • State and territory jurisdictional representatives
  • Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW)
  • Department of Health (Health)
  • A MHISSC mental health consumer representative and a MHISSC mental health carer representative
  • A Mental Health Information Development Expert Advisory Panels (National, Child and Adolescent and Adult)
  • Australian Mental Health Outcomes and Classification Network (AMHOCN)
  • Private Hospital Sector
  • Safety and Quality Partnership Standing Committee (SQPSC)
  • A representative from the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care (ACSQHC)
  • Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS)
  • Productivity Commission.


Secretariat support is currently provided by the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare, Mental Health and Palliative Care Unit, Canberra, ACT. Contact details for the secretariat are:

Postal address NMHPSC Secretariat
Australian Institute of Health and Welfare
GPO Box 570


(02) 6244 1262


(02) 6244 1299

Email address [email protected]