This web report was prepared by the Maternal and Perinatal Health Unit at the AIHW. Various stakeholders provided valuable advice about the development of the NCADC and this report, including members of the NCAAG, the National Perinatal Data Development Committee and the National Maternity Data Development Project Advisory Group.

The AIHW wish to thank state and territory data providers who contributed their congenital anomalies data. They also wish to thank clinical consultants Michael Humphrey AM, and Jeremy Oats, and NCAAG members for their expertise, guidance, and support in preparing this report. These include:

  • Shirin Anil, Victorian Department of Health
  • Gareth Baynam, Western Australian Register of Developmental Anomalies
  • Tim Donovan, Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital
  • Samantha Diplock, Commonwealth Department of Health
  • Tanya Farrell, Victorian Department of Health
  • Joanna Gaston, Victorian Department of Health
  • Louise Gates, Australian Institute of Health and Welfare 
  • Catherine Gibson, South Australian Birth Defects Register
  • Tim Harrold, New South Wales Ministry of Health
  • Lisa Hui, Murdoch Children’s Research Institute
  • Belinda Jennings, Northern Territory Department of Health
  • Trisha Johnston, Queensland Department of Health
  • Teck Yee Khong, Women’s and Children’s Hospital
  • Peter Mansfield, Department of Health, Tasmania
  • George McGillivray, Murdoch Children’s Research Institute
  • Nicole Millis, Rare Voices Australia
  • Caron Molster, Western Australian Department of Health
  • Heather Renton, Syndromes without a name
  • Heather Scott, South Australian Birth Defects Register
  • Farah Sethna, ACT Health
  • Rosalind Sexton, ACT Health

The AIHW also acknowledges the time, effort and expertise of all clinical staff in collecting and providing data for both the NCADC and the NPDC.