The Endometriosis report was produced by staff from the Chronic Conditions Unit at the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW).

Valuable input was received from Department of Health and Aged Care’s Endometriosis Expert Advisory Group, whose members at the time of producing this report were: Lisa Schofield (Chair), Jason Abbott, Donna Ciccia, Susan Evans, Lesley Freedman, Sylvia Freedman, Alan Lam, Danielle Mazza AM, Janet Michelmore AO, Melissa Parker, Maree Davenport, Peter Rogers, Magdalena Simonis AM, Cara Taheny, Jessica Taylor, and former member Alexis Wolfe.

The Australian Government Department of Health and Aged Care funded this report and the valuable comments received by individuals from the Department are also acknowledged.

The following acknowledgments relate to the prevalence data analyses provided by the University of Queensland.

This work was prepared by Gita D Mishra, Dereje G Gete and Richard Hockey of the University of Queensland.

The research on which this work is based was conducted as part of the Australian Longitudinal Study on Women’s Health by the University of Queensland and The University of Newcastle. Researchers are grateful to the Australian Government Department of Health and Aged Care for funding and to the women who provided the survey data.

Researchers acknowledge the Department of Health and Medicare Australia for providing MBS and PBS data and the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare as the integrating authority. Researchers also acknowledge the following:

  • Centre for Health Record Linkage (CHeReL), NSW Ministry of Health and ACT Health, for the NSW Admitted Patients Data Collection, and the ACT Admitted Patient Care Data Collections.
  • Queensland Health, including the Statistical Services Branch, for the Qld Hospital Admitted Patient Data Collection.
  • Department of Health Western Australia, including the Data Linkage Branch, and the WA Hospital Morbidity Data Collection.
  • SA NT Datalink, and SA Department for Health and Wellbeing and Northern Territory Department of Health, for the SA Public Hospital Separations and NT Public Hospital Inpatient Activity Data Collections.
  • Tasmanian Data Linkage Unit, and the Department of Health, Tasmania, for the Public Hospital Admitted Patient Episodes Data Collection.
  • Victorian Department of Health as the source of the Victorian Admitted Episodes Dataset, and the Centre for Victorian Data Linkage (Victorian Department of Health) for the provision of data linkage.

Gita D Mishra is an NHMRC Leadership Fellow.