We have about 600 staff, most in Canberra and some in Sydney.

Our staff are skilled in:

  • statistical analysis
  • epidemiology and demography
  • information development
  • data management
  • communication
  • public sector administration.

The Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW) is headed by a Chief Executive Office (CEO) and is divided into 10 specialist groups.

AIHW organisation chart [PDF 105kB]

Australian Institute of Health and Welfare

Dr Zoran Bolevich, Chief Executive Officer and Board member

  • Board Secretary & Executive Officer (Ms Amber Jefferson)
  • General Counsel (Ms Clare Sorensen)

Deputy CEO Group

Mr Matthew James, Deputy Chief Executive Officer

  • Centrelink & Palliative Services (Ms Karen Higgins, acting)
  • Flagship Reporting (Ms Simone Brown)
  • Mental Health Analytics & Reporting Service (MHARS) (Mr Jason Thomson)
  • Mental Health Information & Evidence Refinement & Validation (MHINERVA) (Ms Amy Young)
  • Suicide & Self-harm Monitoring (Mr Chris Killick-Moran)

Business & Technology Group

Mr Andrew Kettle, Group Head

  • Financial & Commercial Services (Mr Andrew Tharle)
  • People & Facilities (Ms Sandra Bailey)
  • Chief Technology Office (Ms Kim Riley, CIO)
  • Cyber Security and Analytic Applications Support (Mr Simon Hilton)
  • IT Business & Development (Mr Vara Goluguri, acting)
  • IT Operations & Platforms (Mr Gavin Thomson)

Community Services Group

Ms Louise York, Group Head

  • Aged Care Data Improvement (Ms Penny Sui)
  • Ageing & Aged Care Analysis (Ms Leah Newman)
  • Disability (Mr Sam Chambers)
  • Family, Domestic & Sexual Violence (Ms Sally Mills)
  • GEN & Aged Care Data (Mr Dinesh Indraharan)
  • National Disability Data Asset (Ms Rebecca Hurley)

Data Governance & Integration Group

Claire Sparke, Group Head

  • Data Linkage Services (Mr David Braddock & Paul Lukong)
  • Ethics & Privacy (Mr Gary Kent, acting)
  • Governance & Client Services (Ms Natalie Cooper)
  • Integration Development (Ms Miriam Lum On)
  • National Integrated Health Services Information (NIHSI) & National Health Data Hub (NHDH) (Ms Caitlin Szigetvari)

First Nations Health & Welfare Group

Dr Fadwa Al-Yaman, Group Head

  • Burden of Disease (Ms Tracy Dixon)
  • Eye, Ear & Hearing Health (Ms Jo Baker, acting & Arus Sevoyan, acting)
  • Health Performance Framework (Ms Jessica Cargill)
  • Mental Health & Suicide Prevention (Ms Pooja Chowdhary, acting)
  • Primary Care Reporting (Ms Felicity Murdoch)
  • Regional Insights (Ms Chun Oberst)
  • Spatial Analysis (Dr Martin Edvardsson)

Health Systems Group

Ms Bernice Cropper, Group Head

  • Analysis Support (Ms Jen Mayhew-Larsen)
  • Health Economics (Mr Geoff Callaghan)
  • Hospitals Data (Mr Brett Henderson)
  • Injuries & System Surveillance (Dr Heather Swanston)
  • Performance Analysis & Reporting (Ms Clara Jellie)

Housing & Specialised Services Group

Dr Gabrielle Phillips, Group Head

  • Child Welfare (Ms Anne-Marie Rushby)
  • Housing & Homelessness Collection Operations (Dr Ailsa McManus)
  • Housing & Homelessness Collection Processing (Ms Joanne Groube)
  • Housing & Homelessness Reporting & Development (Ms Nikki Schroder)
  • Justice & Education (Ms Amanda Donges)
  • Tobacco, Alcohol & Other Drugs (Dr Louise Tierney)

Population Health Group

Ms Louise Gates, Group Head

  • Burden of Disease & Mortality (Ms Michelle Gourley)
  • Cancer Data & Monitoring (Mr Justin Harvey)
  • Cardiovascular, Diabetes & Kidney (Ms Heidi Dietz, acting)
  • Chronic Conditions (Ms Tylie Bayliss, acting)
  • Dementia Data Analysis & Reporting (Ms Ingrid Evans, acting)
  • Dementia Data Improvement (Ms Melanie Dunford)
  • Population Monitoring & COVID-19 Data (Ms Vanessa D'Souza, acting)
  • Prevention & Environmental Health (Dr Vanessa Prescott)
  • Screening Analysis & Monitoring (Ms Moira Hewitt)

Primary Healthcare, Information Standards & Communications Group

Mr Michael Frost, Group Head

  • Communications & Engagement (Ms Rebecca Richter)
  • Metadata, Information Management & Classifications (Ms Vicki Bennett)
  • My Health Record Data (Mr George Bodilsen)
  • Practice Incentives Program Quality Improvement (Mr Conan Liu)
  • Primary Health Care Data Development (Ms Cassandra Gligora)
  • Web, Publishing & Data Visualisation (Ms Cherie McLean)

Priority Populations & Capability Group

Dr Adrian Webster, Group Head

  • Defence & Veterans' Insights (Mr Paul Pham)
  • Maternal & Perinatal Health (Ms Jacqueline Rek)
  • Perinatal Data (Ms Deanna Eldridge, Ms Louise Catanzariti, acting)
  • Specialist Capabilities (Mr Sachind Naidu)