This report was prepared by Chloe Groves, Sonya Glasson, Brett Bissett, Melanie Dunford, Justine Parer, Lilia Arcos-Holzinger and Lisa Irvine of the AIHW Dementia Unit, with valued input from colleagues at the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW) and the Department of Health and Aged Care.

We gratefully acknowledge Professor Annette Dobson, Dr Kaele Stokes, Professor Kaarin Anstey, Professor Lee-Fay Low, Professor Velandai Srikanth, Dr Anthony Hobbs, Professor Henry Brodaty and Karen Glennen who provided expert review.

The Department of Health and Aged Care funded this project.