Dr Michelle Quee, Taylah James, Chelsea Maher and Imogen Andriolo authored this report, with the assistance of Callin Ivanovici, Hang Hoang. Amanda Donges, Dr Gabrielle Phillips and Dr Fadwa Al-Yaman provided advice and guidance.

The Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW) also acknowledge the valuable contributions of the following members of the National Prisoner Health Information Committee:

  • Dr Sharlene Goodhew (Justice Health and Forensic Mental Health Network, New South Wales)
  • Dr Reem Zeki (Justice Health and Forensic Mental Health Network, New South Wales)
  • Teri van Geelen (Justice Health, Victoria)
  • Roslyn Williams (Queensland Health)
  • Dr Joy Rowland (Department of Justice, Western Australia)
  • Andrew Wiley (South Australian Prison Health Service)
  • Deb Siddall (Tasmanian Health Service)
  • Dr Simone Georg (Corrective Services, Australian Capital Territory)
  • Gillian Sharp (Justice Health Services, Australian Capital Territory)
  • Kirsty Butler (Northern Territory Health)
  • Priscilla Moore (Northern Territory Health)
  • Professor Tony Butler (University of New South Wales)
  • Dr Michael Doyle (University of Sydney)
  • Maddi Jarrett-Luck (Australian Bureau of Statistics)
  • Dr Jocelyn Jones (Curtin University)
  • Professor Stuart Kinner (Curtin University)
  • Dr Megan Williams (University of Technology, Sydney)
  • Dr Jesse Young (University of Melbourne).

AIHW also acknowledges Corrective Services New South Wales for contributions of data.

Special thanks are due to the participants in prison and service providers who participated in the data collection. The states and territories, with support from the AIHW, provided funding for this report.

AIHW acknowledges the participation and assistance of state and territory departments responsible for prisoner health and any relevant service providers in the conduct of the research.

This report cannot be considered as either endorsed by state and territory departments or an expression of the policies or views of state and territory departments. Any errors of omission or commission are the responsibility of the AIHW.