The Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Ear and Hearing Health Data and Reporting Advisory Group (EHHDRAG) was established in 2023. The Group provides expert guidance to the AIHW on the reporting of information about ear and hearing health of First Nations people. This includes:

  • providing expert advice on the analysis and reporting of information in the Ear and hearing health of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people series of reports and ensuring the reports are relevant to ear and hearing health policy and services
  • identifying data gaps and other relevant data sources
  • providing expert advice on ear and hearing health conditions and their determinants, and ear and hearing health policy and services.


The EHHDRAG is chaired by Professor Kelvin Kong. The meetings are generally online and held up to twice each year.


The EHHDRAG is a multidisciplinary group whose members are appointed because they are experts in the ear and hearing health of First Nations people from a clinical, policy, research, service-delivery or advocacy perspective.

Membership as at 12 June 2024 (names are listed alphabetically by surname)

Member name


Dr Fadwa Al-Yaman


Assoc Prof Amarjit Anand

NT Health

Ms Anne-Marie Banfield

National Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation (NACCHO)

Dr Chris Brennan-Jones

Head of Ear Health, Telethon Kids Institute

Associate Professor, Curtin University

Ms Claire Clack

Department of Health and Aged Care

Ms Michele Clapin

Hearing Australia

Mr Dennis Conlon (Moppy)

Deadly Ears Queensland

Mr Mark Fitzpatrick

Telethon Speech and Hearing

Prof Hasantha Gunasekera 

NSW Health and University of Sydney

Prof Kelvin Kong (Chair)

University of Newcastle

Clinical Assoc Prof Jafri Kuthubutheen

University of Western Australia

WA Country Health Service, Department of Health

Ms Rose Lougheed

Justice Health NSW

Prof Catherine McMahon

HEAR Centre, Macquarie University

Mr Jamie Newman

Orange Aboriginal Medical Service

Prof Stephen O’Leary, MBBS, BMedSc, PhD, FRACS

William Gibson Chair and Head of Otolaryngology, The University of Melbourne

National Health and Medical Research Council (Australia) Practitioner Fellow

Mr Timothy Saunders

National Indigenous Australians Agency (NIAA)

Dr Jacqueline Stephens

Flinders University

Assoc Prof Valerie Sung

Murdoch Children's Research Institute

Ms Valerie Swift

Telethon Kids Institute

Contact us

Secretariat support for the EHHDRAG is provided by the Eye, Ear and Hearing Health Unit in the First Nations Health and Welfare Group at the AIHW.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Ear and Hearing Health Data and Reporting Advisory Group Secretariat
AIHW GPO Box 570
Canberra ACT 2601
Email: [email protected]