The Indigenous Statistical and Information Advisory Group (ISIAG) was established in 2016. It provides the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW) with expert advice and guidance on national information and statistics about Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander (First Nations) people in order to steer the production of high quality, relevant and accessible information. Specifically, the ISIAG will provide expert advice to the AIHW on:

  • AIHW projects including the content and methods of such projects, and the subsequent presentation and communication of the findings.
  • current and emerging information needs and priorities about the health and wellbeing of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people. 


The ISIAG is chaired by Professor Yin Paradies. The meetings are held via videoconference at least twice per year.


The Advisory Group is a multidisciplinary group whose members are key experts in areas of the health and wellbeing of First Nations people, relevant data and/or statistical methods.

Membership as at 21 July 2023 (names are listed alphabetically)
Member nameAffiliation
Prof Yin Paradies (Chair)Alfred Deakin Professor and Chair in Race Relations, Deakin University
Dr Jason AgostinoNational Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation (NACCHO)
Dr Fadwa Al-YamanAustralian Institute of Health and Welfare
Prof Tony BarnesCharles Darwin University
Dr John Bryant Bayesian Demography Limited
Prof Pat DudgeonSchool of Indigenous Studies, University of Western Australia
Prof Gail Garvey School of Public Health, University of Queensland
Associate Professor Kalinda GriffithsPoche SA+NT, Flinders University & Victorian Comprehensive Cancer Alliance
Prof Ian RingTropical Health and Medicine, James Cook University
Prof Leonard R Smith School of Demography, Australian National University
Dr Mark WenitongLowitja Institute

Contact us

Secretariat support for the ISIAG is provided by the First Nations Health and Welfare Group at the AIHW. 

ISIAG Secretariat

AIHW GPO Box 570

Canberra ACT 2601

Email: [email protected]