National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIA) – Business Systems


Collection frequency

Yearly quarters

Latest data

2023–24, December quarter

Description of data source

The National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIA) is an independent statutory agency. Their role is to implement the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS).

The National Disability Insurance Agency holds all funds contributed by the Commonwealth, States and Territories in a single pool, manages scheme funds, administers access to the scheme and approves the payment of individualised support packages.

NDIA reports based on administrative/program data, and on survey data (Short Form/Long Form Outcomes Framework). Participant, provider, budget and plan management data are reported quarterly, Short Form survey data is reported quarterly and Long Form survey data is reported annually in June.


Eligibility requirements for the NDIS (under Section 24 of the Act) include that the disability is caused by an impairment, is likely to be permanent, the permanent impairment substantially reduces the individual's functional capacity, affects their ability to work, study or take part in social life, and that the individual is likely to need support under the NDIS for their whole life. The requirement for an individual to need support their whole life does not apply to those found eligible under Section 25 of the Act.

Disability types

The NDIS eligibility requirements provide guidance on included disability types (List B: Conditions that are likely to result in a permanent impairment | NDIS). Reported disability types are:

  • Acquired brain injury 
  • Autism
  • Cerebral palsy
  • Down syndrome
  • Hearing impairment
  • Intellectual disability
  • Multiple sclerosis
  • Psychosocial disability
  • Spinal cord injury
  • Stroke
  • Visual impairment
  • Other neurological
  • Other physical
  • Other sensory/speech
  • Other
Age groups

Age refers to the age of a person on their last birthday.


“Preferred gender pronoun” is collected.

Indigenous status

Indigenous status is voluntarily self-reported based on the ABS Indigenous Status Standard.1 The term ‘First Nations participants’ is used to refer to participants of the NDIS who have identified as Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander, or both Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander during the access and/or planning process.

Definition of CALD

Culturally and Linguistically Diverse (CALD) cohort includes people born in countries other than main English-speaking countries (Australia, New Zealand, the UK, the USA, Canada, Republic of Ireland, and South Africa), and/or those who mainly speak a language other than English at home.

Geographic information

For the measure NDIS participants use of assistive technology, areas of remoteness are classified according to Accessibility and Remoteness Index of Australia2.

For other measures based on NDIS data, areas of remoteness are classified by the NDIS using the Modified Monash Model (MMM). The MMM is a classification system that categorises metropolitan, regional and remote areas according to their population size and isolation. The MMM classifies Australia into seven geographic areas of remoteness:

  • Major cities
  • Regional – population greater than 50,000
  • Regional – population between 15,000 and 50,000
  • Regional – population between 5,000 and 15,000
  • Regional – population less than 5,000
  • Remote/very remote

National, state and territory data are available.

Measures reported
  1. The ABS Indigenous Status Standard can be found at Indigenous Status Standard, 2014, Version 1.5 | Australian Bureau of Statistics (
  2. Further information on the geographic index used by this data source can be found at Remoteness Structure | Australian Bureau of Statistics (